The Wipe action restores a device to its factory default settings. The user data is kept if you choose the Retain enrollment state and user account checkbox. Otherwise, all data, apps, and settings will be removed.
The Retain enrollment state and user account option is only available for Windows 10 version 1709 or later.
MDM policies will be reapplied the next time the device connects to Intune.
A wipe is useful for resetting a device before you give the device to a new user, or when the device has been lost or stolen. Be careful about selecting Wipe. Data on the device cannot be recovered.
Wiping a device
1. Sign in to the Microsoft Endpoint Manager admin center.
2. Select Devices > All devices.
3. Select the name of the device that you want to wipe.
4. In the pane that shows the device name, select Wipe.
For Windows 10 version 1709 or later, you also have the Wipe device, but keep enrollment state and associated user account option.
The Wipe device, and continue to wipe even if device loses power. option makes sure that the wipe action can't be circumvented by turning off the device. This option will keep trying to reset the device until successful. In some configurations this action may leave the device unable to reboot.
To confirm the wipe, select Yes.
If the device is on and connected, the Wipe action propagates across all device types in less than 15 minutes.